Isolating valves on heat only boiler f & r pipes | Boilers | Plumbers Forums
  • Welcome to PlumbersTalk.net

Welcome to Plumbers' Talk | The new domain for UKPF / Plumbers Forums. Login with your existing details they should all work fine. Please checkout the PT Updates Forum

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss Isolating valves on heat only boiler f & r pipes in the Boilers area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.

Captain.rick

Gas Engineer
Hi all,

as you may be aware im kinda new to this game. My mentor told me when fitting a heat only boiler he advises puting full bore isolation valves on flow and return pipes.

is this good advice?

cant see why not but dont see the point normally put comp couplings incase later on someone changes the boiler easy swap, but dont see the point in valves

cant see why not but dont see the point normally put comp couplings incase later on someone changes the boiler easy swap, but dont see the point in valves

Yes i guess he meant quicker for changes or boiler work.... But how often would that be?! I thought it would be better to drain a refill (fresh water & inhibitors) if work needed, but i guess for speed it could be beneficial?

Some argue compression = leaks etc

Yes i guess he meant quicker for changes or boiler work.... But how often would that be?! I thought it would be better to drain a refill (fresh water & inhibitors) if work needed, but i guess for speed it could be beneficial?

Some argue compression = leaks etc