Boiler only heats water for 45 seconds at a time | Boilers | Plumbers Forums

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss Boiler only heats water for 45 seconds at a time in the Boilers area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

cjyoung

Hi all,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to plumbing & central heating systems so please bear with me... ;)

We have a Glow Worm Flexicom 15hx boiler (located in the kitchen) which was installed just under four years ago. During the time we've had the boiler we've had a number of occasions when we've experienced a loss of hot water and central heating. We symptoms always seem to be the same: the boiler appears to operate correctly but when the burner comes on the indicated temperature rises quickly from ~45 deg C to the required temperature of 70 deg C at which point it shuts off. The burner is only active for about 45 seconds which, I guess, is not really long enough to heat the water properly. I'm not sure how reliable the temperature readout actually is. The net result is that the radiators either don't heat up at all or become lukewarm and the same is true of the water in the hot water tank. We often find that the pump gets very noisy after about 15-20 minutes of operation as well (this may or may not be related).