Boiler problems etc | Boilers | Plumbers Forums

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss Boiler problems etc in the Boilers area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Andyg

Hi, please be gentle as i am a newbie!!!
I have a Glow worm Economy Plus 50C boiler which until recently has been trouble free. Things started going pear shaped around a month ago before i turned the central heating on when i noticed that the hot water was not so hot anymore yet the boiler was working ok or at least appeared to be. When i put the central heating on, all seemed ok (apart from the hot water) and the radiators were getting hot until last week when the pilot went out. I replaced the thermocoupling which seemed to help at first or at least the pilot is now lit but when the boiler goes onto full heat, there appears to be a lot of noise from the boiler and its as if its really windy outside as it tries to blow out the flames of the boiler. The central heating now takes a long time to heat up. This week, the boiler has started to cut out again and now has to be re-lit. After around 20 - 30 seconds, the boiler cuts out completely including the pilot.
Dont know if any of this is related but the boiler is around 8 - 10 years old.

Any ideas??

Last edited by a moderator: