burner oil pump | Boilers | Plumbers Forums

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss burner oil pump in the Boilers area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

pmac10

hi, im an industrial elec/mech maintenance engineer and was called to my parents house as their burner went to lockout after failing to cycle. the pump is the problem as the motor metered fine as did the capacitor and the fan is free to rotate. i decoupled the pump from the motor and it has tight spots.
problem. i have a new pump to fit but do not have the tools to set the pump pressure, do a smoke test or carry out flue gas anylasis (i have a piece of paper with oftec 101 cert on it) but not even a smoke pump to put it in.
this is an off the shelf danfoss bfp 21 pump. any thoughts on the way forward. im not commissioning a new pressure jet appliance, just fitting a new pump to an existing one.
any advice greatly recieved:confused:

Well, you can buy the necessary equipment and you obviously know what sort of stuff is involved. But it will be cheaper to get someone out. I was about to suggest a porky pie tale but it won't do any harm in you phoning/finding a local oil chappy and explain to him what you've done and what you'd like him to do (e.g. smoke test, pressure test, etc).

If I was phoned I'd be quite happy to oblige as someone has already done the filthy work for me! 9 times out of 10 the testing should easily be completed within the hour.