CH system losing water | Plumbing Zone | All Other Country's | Plumbers Forums

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss CH system losing water in the Plumbing Zone | All Other Country's area at Plumbers Forums

O

osh

First post on this forum and not a plumber by trade so apologies for the long ramble. I have a little technical knowledge so have a general understanding of CH sytems and can undertake basic maintentance on my own.

In Jan 2010 I had my old CH/hot water completely overhauled. I have a Vaillant Ecotek system boiler (on the 2nd floor) with a Heatrae Sadia Megaflo unvented mains fed indirect heated tank (on the first floor). The existing heating pipework for the ground and first floor was hardly touched (save for two new radiators installed on the ground floor), and seems to be in good condition throughout. At the same time we fitted a heated towel rail in the 2nd floor bathroom and Thermaskirt heating in the 2nd floor bedroom.

Last winter the automatic bypass Valve (Tower brand) failed. This was replaced with a different brand and at the same time an automatic air release valve was installed in the pipework near to the boiler.

Recently I have noticed that the CH system is losing water, noticeable in the towel rail as it is the highest radiator. I have bled it, and three weeks later it's at the same level. The most obvious answer is a leak in CH pipework, but I was hoping that there might be an alternative reason what could be causing it.