Expansion vessel position on unvented installation | Central Heating Forum | Plumbers Forums
  • Welcome to PlumbersTalk.net

Welcome to Plumbers' Talk | The new domain for UKPF / Plumbers Forums. Login with your existing details they should all work fine. Please checkout the PT Updates Forum

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss Expansion vessel position on unvented installation in the Central Heating Forum area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.

paulusgg

Gas Engineer
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum and at the moment I can't find an answer to a problem I have.
I fit a lot of unvented cylinders for a loft conversion company (I'm G3 competent) as very often they need to see the storage tanks gone from the loft.
The question for you lot is "is it acceptable to place the expansion vessel at low level or should it be at least as high as the water control set?"
I've read some posts discussing the orientation of the vessel, i.e. Schrader (car tyre ) type valve pointing up, down or sideways
, but nothing about the position of the vessel relative to the cylinder. Quite often, due to space limitations and servicing needs I've had to place the vessel at a low level, below the control set.

Thoughts and views welcome

As long as it is fitted to MIs and unvented regs, then anywhere near to the unvented cylinder is fine.
Going to be harder work every time the vessel needs replaced though, if it was fitted low.