Fixing a leaking toilet | Boilers | Plumbers Forums

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss Fixing a leaking toilet in the Boilers area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Dharma

Firstly, Just to say that I'm a complete novice at this so I really appreciate any help that I can get.

A few months back, our push button toilet started leaking from the back under one of the nuts. I called a plumber in and he did his thing and the leaks stopped for a few months before it started again. So this time, I thought I'd try and sort the problem out myself!

Here's the picture of the toilet from the top.

86374876.jpg

The leak happens from the left nut (see the rust)
98329733.jpg

Initially I thought it was just the donut coupling ring that was damaged, so I replaced that. But the problem continued to happen. I took the cistern off and placed it on a bucket to see where the leak was coming from. It appeared to be leaking from the metal plate and then leaking into the wing nut.

I
74928528.jpg

What was interesting was that when I replaced the donut the first time, the leak didn't occur until I flushed. But there was nothing wrong with the donut itself. Therefore, I'm guessing that when the flush mechnism is moved anyway, a leak occured. (When I sat the cistern on a bucket, it was leaking without flushing).

Here's a picture of the bottom of the cistern with the coupling nut removed:
57754504.jpg

Theplastic coupling nut was sealed with some sort of sealent.