I have been using a Stanley stove with a back boiler for the past ten years. | Boilers | Plumbers Forums
  • Welcome to PlumbersTalk.net

Welcome to Plumbers' Talk | The new domain for UKPF / Plumbers Forums. Login with your existing details they should all work fine. Please checkout the PT Updates Forum

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss I have been using a Stanley stove with a back boiler for the past ten years. in the Boilers area at Plumbers Forums

I have been using a Stanley stove with a back boiler for the past ten years. We are now converting to gas and have disconnected the stove from the mains. We would like to keep the stove but I am concerned about how safe/unsafe that might be. I lit a fire and as I had been told, we had a sauna like few hours and when I lit another fire last night, there was no steam. Is there any danger about burning coal fires as the stove is or should I do anything necessary that I'm not aware off? Thanks for any advice folks :)

The concern is that when the empty boiler eventually burns through due to being run dry, fumes can escape through the empty pipework and cause CO poisoning to the occupants. Some plumbers have sandfilled the pipework to prevent this (the sand avoids an explosion risk while mostly blocking the pipework) but this is now considered insufficiently safe. I'm not sure if any studies have been made into what happens if you were to drill a hole in the boiler and then put proper end caps on the pipework.