Pump overrun causes loud bang | Central Heating Forum | Plumbers Forums
  • Welcome to PlumbersTalk.net

Welcome to Plumbers' Talk | The new domain for UKPF / Plumbers Forums. Login with your existing details they should all work fine. Please checkout the PT Updates Forum

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss Pump overrun causes loud bang in the Central Heating Forum area at Plumbers Forums

Hello,
I am not a plumber, but I have done some DIY in the past, so I have some experience. Following a new boiler install by a professional about a year ago, there remains an issue when the pump overrun initiates. The boiler is a Worcester Ri compact installed downstairs. the pump is installed above it and feeds out to two Drayton 2 port valves, one for C/H one for H/W. Between the pump and the valves is a tee with a divertor to provide a by-pass during overrun. this works fine when the C/H closes down, but when the H/W closes down there is a loud thump as that valve closes against the pump flow, even with the divertor set to its lowest pressure. The H/W tank is about 8 or 9 meters away, upstairs and the pipes (28mm) are laid between the upstairs joists with minimal fixing (now difficult to access).