Replacement Boiler - W/B 24Ri or 30CDi | Boilers | Plumbers Forums

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss Replacement Boiler - W/B 24Ri or 30CDi in the Boilers area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

wetwipe

Hi folks, newbie here.
We are installing a replacement boiler for our aged but reliable Myson Marathon 600B (17.3Kw output). We have decided on Worcester Bosch, mainly on reputation, but cannot decide which size. Our plumber reckons that the 24Ri (24Kw output) will be okay, but I'm thinking of the 30CDi (30Kw output). We live in a three storey Victorian end terrace, with 13 radiators and 1 bathroom, and no kids, just the two of us. The current Myson, which I thought was well undersized for the property, has worked well, but it struggles to heat the h/w tank and the house on winter mornings, and is then generally on its limit with heating our single glazed, suspended floored, solid walled house. On the face of it the 24Ri might be okay, but the 30CDi is only about £110 more, and for some reason weighs much more (39.5Kg against 22.6 Kg) and seems to have more electrickery inside. We also need to install at least one more radiator on our chilly ground floor, so would I be gaining performance and options with the 30CDi, or going a step too far. Your informed comments would be welcome. Thanks.

Welcome to Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice | Plumbers Forums | A forum for plumbers advice in the UK!

Hi wetwipe and welcome to UKPlumbersForums.co.uk!