Replacement pump (I think) advice | Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board | Plumbers Forums
  • Welcome to PlumbersTalk.net

Welcome to Plumbers' Talk | The new domain for UKPF / Plumbers Forums. Login with your existing details they should all work fine. Please checkout the PT Updates Forum

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss Replacement pump (I think) advice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

wifflebat

Hi everyone.
I'm a noob to the forum and to plumbing, though I have learnt a great deal recently during some home improvements!

I have an unvented central heating system with a wood pellet boiler (Kunzel) that has been in for about 5 years or so now. Recently I've been having some problems with the circulator pump which is a DAB VA 55/130 EVO. Basically I think it has been sticking as it isn't circulating when it should be. The voltage to the pump is fine.
Usually I just turn off the power to the pump, close the valves around it and poke about a bit with the propeller shaft via the brass access screw thing and sometimes it runs again. Tonight I got a bit fed up with it and decided to take it off. The propeller itself moves very freely in and out about 6mm which I'm pretty sure isn't right :/
You can see this in the pics.
I ran the pump disconnected like this for a few seconds and, although it runs in both of these positions, it sounds a little rougher in the outer position (not by much though).

I guess what I'd like to know is