Rumbling noise from boiler/heating | Boilers | Plumbers Forums
  • Welcome to PlumbersTalk.net

Welcome to Plumbers' Talk | The new domain for UKPF / Plumbers Forums. Login with your existing details they should all work fine. Please checkout the PT Updates Forum

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss Rumbling noise from boiler/heating in the Boilers area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

davy4091

Hello newbie here looking for some advice please. Last June we had an Ideal Logic 35 boiler fitted to replace our old Vokera 80SL under the govt. warm front scheme. After a few weeks of starting to use the central heating around Oct/Nov we noticed a loud rumbling noise which appears to be in the ceiling of the dining room but circulates throughout upstairs rooms & can be heard in living room next to dining room. We called Ideal engineer out who diagnosed faulty pump which was replaced & noise disappeared. One week later & noise returned. This time diverter valve diagnosed & replaced, again noise disappeared only to return within a week. This has been repeated with the replacement of several parts until it was realised that simply draining the boiler & refilling it has the effect of curing the problem, but again after several days it returns. The Ideal people seem to conclude that the problem is with my existing pipework/radiators, but are unable to say what it might be & I am loathe to have flooring ripped up & pipes replaced without some assurance that this will cure the problem pe