shower pump eraticly on and off - kind of! | Showers and Wetrooms Advice | Plumbers Forums
  • Welcome to PlumbersTalk.net

Welcome to Plumbers' Talk | The new domain for UKPF / Plumbers Forums. Login with your existing details they should all work fine. Please checkout the PT Updates Forum

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss shower pump eraticly on and off - kind of! in the Showers and Wetrooms Advice area at Plumbers Forums

Hi all!

I've been plumbing (domestic) on and off for about 5 years now so I've a lot still to learn. I was called out to a woman's house the other day with a problem I'm not sure I can fix. As with most things, I'll be fully confident I can fix it once I get it diagnosed...

So, She has two bathrooms on first floor with hot cylinder and 3-bar positive head Stewart Turner pump, which feeds two showers, hot taps at the basins and the kitchen sink down stairs.
The problem is in the main bathroom - when you open the shower mixer (half and half mix of hot and cold) the pump doesn't kick in. If you open the shower valve with the lever all the way over to cold, pump kicks in and you can adjust the temp and it runs fine. What the owner was doing was running the basin hot tap to get the pump going. So it seems like an air lock in the hot side right?
I had a look at the pipework in the airing cupboard and it seems ok. There is a Warix flange on the hot cylinder feeding the hot side of the pump.