Condensing boiler is not for me | Boilers | Plumbers Forums

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss Condensing boiler is not for me in the Boilers area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Centralheatking

I am a heating contractor/installer/employer with many years experiencenow retiring a bit from installation (knees etc)I would like to canvass some opinions. My friends in low places at BGtell me of horrendous failure rates of condensing boilers. Lots to do with crap in old systems that clog up miniscule heat exchangers- my system is old and I flush it every so often with water and gifts !I have a conventional (system) 30kw wall hung 100 Gloworm its great BUT ifI need to replace it STUFF the rules can I get similar in this country or can i just order it from abroad.All unconventional thoughts welcomecentralheatking

You answered the question yourself.... horrendous failure rates due to crap in old systems!

Clean the system properly prior to installing your new condensing boiler & you will be fine.

I get the ferrous aspect but from what I have been told its other components that fail
with in a few years also esp the worcs . In the old days proper boilers lasted 15-20 years plus.

We have many old but lovely cast iron rads they will be an on going prob.

As an engineer with many years product dev experience I feel that condensors are
intermediate technology. I suppose I will just get someone to rebuild what goes wrong.