how do people get away with taking cash for a boiler swap? | Boilers | Plumbers Forums

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss how do people get away with taking cash for a boiler swap? in the Boilers area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.

lordyjordy111

Gas Engineer
Hi

i'm a trainee heating engineer and the current chap i'm working for is losing a lot of work as there are a lot of people doing cash jobs.

when he tells them that the price is plus VAT they seem to be deterred, which I can understand as it's bloody expensive

my question is how can they be registering the boilers??? surely there is a paper trail.

and what about the guarantee on the boiler.

there are companies out there who are not VAT registered, including myself, doesnt mean i dont declare my jobs

registering is not a requirement where i am(scotland)

alot of guys dont fill in benchmark and sign off boilers, will they get caught ? nope

hi

I understand that a lot of companies aren't VAT registered but even from a tax point of view it's a bit cheeky.

when you say signing it off i'm a bit confused......

signing it off with who?

right now not being VAT registered can only be a good thing...

signing off as in signing your name to the benchmark, just the term which is used

customers dont even ask to see your GS card, they dont care or dont even know, they want the cheapest thing possible and some people even dont bother sending away their warranty card anyway, need to educate the customers