No HW but boiler and pump running fine | Boilers | Plumbers Forums

Welcome to the forum. Although you can post in any forum, the USA forum is here in case of local regs or laws

American Visitor?

Hey friend, we're detecting that you're an American visitor and want to thank you for coming to PlumbersTalk.net - Here is a link to the American Plumbing Forum. Though if you post in any other forum from your computer / phone it'll be marked with a little american flag so that other users can help from your neck of the woods. We hope this helps. And thanks once again.

Discuss No HW but boiler and pump running fine in the Boilers area at Plumbers Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mawdz66

Hi Im new to this so here goes.

I have a conventional hw/ch heating system.

Im able have HW only CH only or both on at once with a mid port valve.

Recently all seemed to be normal but the tank water want getting warm

I found the HW thermostat on the floor, looked like someone had knocked it of the side of the tank(the kids!!)

The HW is the only thing on at the moment and ive checked the time, thats all ok , , so at 6.00 in the morning the boiler and pump fire up the 3 port valve is point to W for water , however the cylinder just isn't getting hot, the whether is going round another loop straight back to the boiler.

I have put the heating only on and that is working fine. I have put both of them on together the heating is working but not the HW. Ands Hw only isn't working

The slide on the front of the motorized valve is moving to where it should for each of the different positions.

My questions is , could it be the something as simple as the HW cylinder thermostat that is broken as this all seemed to happen form when I found it on the floor and the kids are always pulling blankets and things out of the airing cupboard had wondered if it had got knocked would that cause the problem .

Or is it something more sinister, like the motorised valve is playing up?